Blog Comments.

12 Sep

1) Date: 9/19/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://talkinthetalk.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/always-in-style/comment-page-1/#comment-3

Comment: I’m so glad someone else agrees that AP Style is something useful! Before being a Strat Comm major I never even thought about PR writing, or thought that I could actually get the hang of it, and eventually be good at it.  After taking Mary’s class in Comm 221, I realized how much I enjoy learning the AP Style rules.  Now when I write papers for other classes I find myself using these rules, such as not putting a comma after the word ‘and.’ 🙂

2) Date: 9/30/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://tidbitsbykait.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/three-things-you-should-know-about-deadlines/comment-page-1/#comment-7

Comment: This is so true! Deadlines don’t typically scare me, until it comes down to the day or two before and I haven’t completed the task yet! Just kidding, kind of. I definitely like the idea of making a checklist and I use them quite frequently. Without a checklist I wouldn’t be able to remind myself what’s needed to be done and I also use them as a reminder to get them done properly and on time.

3) Date: 10/1/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://behappynoworries.wordpress.com/2012/09/30/think-before-you-tweet-post-blog/comment-page-1/#comment-12

Comment: I like that you mentioned the importance of the old fashioned, face-to-face communication. This generation is totally consumed in their smartphones and social media networks that it really is taking face-to-face conversation out of the picture. Even the new apps that our smartphones provide take away that aspect. You can deposit checks from your smartphone by simply taking a picture, which means interaction with a bank teller isn’t needed. There are so many apps that keep our noses in our phones that we don’t even need to watch TV to access that information. I know accessing information that way is much quicker and convenient, which is obviously why we now have it, but I think we are depending on our cellphones too heavily in order to communicate. It’s rare that I use a phone call rather than texting someone to say what I need to say. However, I will say that one positive feature that smartphones have given us to communicate is FaceTime.

4) Date: 10/1/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://akell13.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/why-my-2-year-old-nephew-knows-more-sign-language-than-i-do/comment-page-1/#comment-3

Comment: All I can say is, wow! That is truly amazing that your nephew is starting to learn sign language. It’s a beautiful idea to teach him a way to communicate with his aunt and I can definitely say I’ve never heard of a baby learning sign language. I think teaching babies a different language at a young age is a great way to start them learning different cultures from the beginning. We started teaching both of my nieces Spanish before they even turned two. Of course, Dora the Explorer is a great teacher for this, and we also taught them how to count to 10 in Spanish, among other basic words. I really wish I would’ve had Dora around when I was a baby, because then maybe I would be able to remember my Spanish a little better now!

5) Date: 11/18/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://awallingosu.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/etcafe/#respond

Comment: Alysson, I know exactly where you’re coming from when you say the idea of a TweetChat was new and maybe a little intimidating? I was unsure how accepting the people in my TweetChat would be since they are all working professionals, but they accepted me with open arms, and like in your case, invited me back for the next week’s chat. I was able to gain followers, and even connect with a fellow Buckeye residing in a different state. I also learned a lot from them. The most exciting thing for me was when I made a counterpoint to one of the professionals, and others backed me up! Providing your own insight and being right is fun! Maybe this means I’m ready to graduate and be a big girl now? Great post!

6) Date: 11/18/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://dankieffer.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/social-media-and-marketing/comment-page-1/#comment-12

Comment: First of all, I applaud you and your fraternity for promoting a clothes drive for the Hurricane Sandy victims. This is definitely something I would be interested in supporting. I’m not apart of Greek life, but I really love all the different fundraisers and events that are held for the benefit of others. Also, I completely agree with how amazing it is that Facebook has the ability to reach millions of people in a short period of time. Although Facebook has some negative aspects, I believe the best part of this social medium is the ability to connect with others. Good job on using your resources and developing an event for this clothes drive. Good luck!

Abby

7) Date: 11/19/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://talkinthetalk.wordpress.com/2012/10/11/wendys-biting-off-more-than-they-can-chew/comment-page-1/#comment-17

Comment: Personally, I have no problem with fast food chains changing their logo.  Many of them are updating their look, such as McDonald’s and Arby’s.  Maybe Wendy’s did it so that they wouldn’t be “behind the times,” but I agree with you in saying that a new logo will not change the way their burgers taste.  I think the new Wendy’s logo still has an old-fashioned feel to it.  Many people simply don’t like seeing something that they grew up with changing, which is understandable.  However, making a big fuss about it is pretty unnecessary if you ask me.

8) Date: 11/19/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://twiks41.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/gram-that/comment-page-1/#comment-10

Comment: I really like your blog idea of tips on how to properly use Instagram. I’m becoming more and more addicted to Instagram everyday and I find the photos that others post to be very interesting. IG is a way to express yourself and your photos can even tell your own story, and I really like that aspect. Fun and interactive – can’t beat it.

9) Date: 11/19/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://whatsatweet.wordpress.com/2012/11/18/changing-your-life-goals-9-times-and-how-to-not-communicate-them-to-your-parents-part-deux/comment-page-1/#comment-16

Comment: Interesting and unique post! Congrats on finding the perfect blend of your interests for your major! I was the exact same way when I first decided to pursue a Finance degree. My aunt is a financial advisor, she travels a lot to meet up with her fancy clients, gets to wine and dine them and has lots of knowledge on the Stock Market. So I thought to myself, I’m good with numbers, I like to wine and dine, and I DEFINITELY like to travel. I’m going to be a financial advisor when I grow up! Well, I didn’t think about the possibility of the boring, nitty gritty details of that particular job. Changing my major to Strategic Communications was great for me and I’m very excited about all of the opportunities that this degree will open up for me.

10) Date: 11/19/12

Type: Commented on another student’s blog

Link: http://behappynoworries.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/advertising-is-so-important/comment-page-1/#comment-21

Comment: Advertising is fascinating to me.  Not only are the multitude of ad types interesting, and the different ways to use each one, but the science behind figuring out how to reach your audience is intriguing.  Targeting an ad on Michigan apparel in the Columbus area makes zero sense, and would infuriate the majority of the population.  Finding out how to reach the audience, developing an ad idea that will drag them in and designing the ad are all major aspects in the advertising industry.  The funny thing is I never even realized these things until I started taking communication classes for my major.

Leave a Reply

Alex Pasternak

My take on Strategic Communications at The Ohio State University

Alysson Walling

Strategically Communicating

Be Happy No Worries

Amber Victoria McGinnis: a free-spirit God fearing college gal WordPress.com site

akell13

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

mcdermott96

A topnotch WordPress.com site

CASEYNULL

A Communications Blog for Strategic Message Design. Just go with it.

Comm 3334

Daniel Kieffer

TalkinTheTalk

Nothing is Better Left Unsaid

jcimperman

Communications and Media Blog

JamesW Thoughts

An Outlet for Great Ideas.... #BeGreat

whatsatweet

Blogging and bebopping my way through a social media-crazed culture

